Hardener??

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Hardener??

Post by MikeC. on March 2nd 2012, 12:09 pm

Hi all,

I've started gathering the supplies I'll need for painting my Ford Ranger next week and one of the things I haven't gotten yet is paint hardener.

After reviewing the info on the forum, I see that many folks on here have different opinions as to whether or not we should be using a hardener for these type projects. Personally, I like the idea of using one. That's only because it makes me feel like my paint will dry harder faster if I do use it. That said, I'm a noob when it comes to all this and really haven't the faintest idea as to what'll give me the best results.

If anyone here has experience using a hardener and would be willing to share their likes/dislikes regarding using it, please drop a reply for me.

Also, for those you have used a hardener, and stand by that technique, what kind of hardener should I use when applying the oil based Rustoleum?

I'll be using a 20oz. HVLP gravity fed spray gun to apply the paint. (Just in case that matters)

Thanks,

Mike C.
MikeC.
Rank
Rank

Number of posts : 3
Project : 1998 Ford Ranger
Registration date : 2012-03-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Hardener??

Post by cac1967 on March 2nd 2012, 10:30 pm

I have used nason acrylic enamel hardner and thinner on the door jamb's on my black 1987 ranger, does just fine with rusto, give's you better control with flowout and hardness" i.e. gloss" hope this help's!!!! thumbs up
cac1967
400+ Poster!
400+ Poster!

Number of posts : 562
Job/hobbies : auto parts manager/classic and antique cars
Project : 1964 falcon,1967 mustang fastback
Registration date : 2011-06-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post by 63Falconconvert on March 5th 2012, 9:55 am