99 Jeep Cherokee Project-Black Rustoleum

View previous topic View next topic Go down

99 Jeep Cherokee Project-Black Rustoleum

Post by wmr309 on October 30th 2012, 9:06 pm

Hey guys

I just started my jeep cherokee project. its a 99 i picked up for a grand with a crushed hatch and no bumper. I tried to rattle can the hatch and bumper to match but it didnt work out so well and there was a huge beer can crumple on the passenger side. Ive been doing some research on "the $50 paint job" and decided to give it a go. My factory paint was pretty good but with mis matched panels and a huge crumple id rather have it all one color than near perfect paint. I have to admit i was a little nervous at first but it seems to be going okay. I wasnt sure how well it was going to work out considering im a full time college student along with work i dont have much time and this is my daily. I sanded with 400 grit and rattle canned primed it, looked so good i almost decided to keep it that way. The primer didnt get any love i guess im just impatient. I laid down 2 coats of black rusto and i have to admit im suprised at the results so far. The first coat looked like crap but after the 2nd coat dried there was a noticeable shine to it. Some of the parts are rough from the roller sliding but overall it doesnt look too bad. I did forget the hardener in my mix of 50/50 but the 3 and 4th coats will get it. I plan on wet sanding in the morning with 1000 grit and laying on another coat. I wasnt really concerned with getting it too glossy because im probably gonna beat it up in the woods but after seeing results so soon i want to see how good i can get it to look. Ill post some current pictures up tomorrow. [img][/img][img][/img][img][You probably cant tell in the picture but the paint is way off]
wmr309
Rank
Rank

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2012-10-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 99 Jeep Cherokee Project-Black Rustoleum