New Member, Gonna be painting H1 Hummer

View previous topic View next topic Go down

New Member, Gonna be painting H1 Hummer

Post by LawDawg79 on June 8th 2013, 2:05 am

Im a cop, and I work for a police dept that doesn't have much money so im gonna be doing this on my own dime. We are gonna be recieving 3 MP version H1 Hummers from the Army. Ive been trying to find a way to do a paint job that looks descent but not perfect and this rustoleum roll on method sounds like the perfect thing for what we need. Where we work is like Mogadishu between 2-6am on Friday and Saturday nights. These Hummers will be used mostly just on Friday and Saturday night shifts. So they don't have to look perfect. All im doing is the body black and the doors white. Then going to put some basic Vinyl POLICE decals on the doors. After that im putting some LED strobes in it. I have to do this all from my pocket otherwise they will stay camo. I honestly don't even know if im going to worry about wet sanding anything but the final coat, IF I even do that. These things are going to get beat up a bit so im not to concerned about a show car finish. Basically I just want them to look good at night and from 10 feet away during the day.

I have done a lot of reading and research on this but any suggestions anyone can think of would be appreciated.

I assume that 1 gallon of black and 1 quart of white should be sufficient to do it all???
LawDawg79
Rank
Rank

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2013-06-07

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New Member, Gonna be painting H1 Hummer

Post by Pacermike on June 13th 2013, 8:01 pm

I can't wait to see pics of this project. Also, where do you work? Sounds like a war zone on the weekend! Smile
Pacermike
Rank
Rank

Number of posts : 16
Registration date : 2013-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post by LawDawg79 on June 15th 2013, 1:09 am