Prospector Intro

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Prospector Intro

Post by Prospector on August 1st 2013, 1:57 pm

Prospector, aka David, or Mr. O, as my former students used to call me, or Bucky, my Army Crewmember Call sign.  How I got that last one, I don't know.   But, it was the Air Cavalry, and we had some weird Call Signs.  

I'm in northern Indiana right now.  We moved back to Indiana to my wife's childhood home to care for her then 87 year old mother who has senile dementia.  I've been here three summers now.  I'm a retired teacher (retired early), and I'm also a seven year army veteran, and proud Cold War Veteran.  If you think the military didn't suffer military casualties during the Cold War, google it.  You'll be surprised.  Air Cav, Air Assault, Aero Scout, Kiowa helicopter Phased Maintenance NCOIC, and a former Chinook helicopter crewchief.  Ahh the eighties.

I taught for 16 years in and around the Dayton, Ohio, metro area at several different schools.  English and Creative Writing, and Music at the elementary level.  

I've been reading the Roller Method of painting a vehicle for over four years now, beginning in Moparts (which suddenly appears to be dead..it's quiet there now...dead quiet), and wanted a more streamlined documentation of the Roller Method and found this.  I've read several threads, here, Moparts, IhateMudders.com (I think that's what it's called) and I like what I see.  I spent a summer working with a friend of mine in Philadelphia reconditioning Leer Jet interiors, and even had the opportunity to spot paint a few.  Tip and Roll there, too.