Prep Work

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Prep Work

Post by Bwick84 on January 24th 2009, 1:10 pm

I have a question about how to do the prep work for this. I have a 73 Duster that I am going to try this with. I've already purchased some Regal Red Rustoleum.

However, I have never done any bodywork or prep work before so I don't have a clue what I need to do. Everything is pretty straight on it so I won't need to do much bodywork. I've tried bondo on a few small dings and it wasn't too hard.

The current paint is the original on the car but it has a lot of little nicks and some deeper scratches in it. What is the best way to approach this with this method? Do I need to sand it all down to bare metal? If so what's the best way to do that? If I have to go to bare metal, should I primer it after that? If I don't have to go down to bare metal, how do I fill those little nicks?

Sorry for all the questions, but I have tried searching for this and haven't found any clear answers. Thanks in advance for you help.
Bwick84
Rank
Rank

Number of posts : 10
Registration date : 2008-06-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Prep Work

Post by megaglow_z on January 24th 2009, 7:18 pm

You do not want to sand down to bare metal.
You will want to use a high build primer [they sell it at walmart in the auto section] on the nicks and scratches, and sand till there level with the paint "might take a few passes to get it."

If the pits are bad, be sure there is no rust. If there is, you might even consider sanding the area at the pit a few inches in diameter down to the metal, and skim coat some bondo on it. then sand smooth.

I had some bad pits in the leading edge of my hood. I would spray a nice full coat of high build primer on, let it dry, then wet sand all of it off. it will stay in the chips. i did that till i could put a light coat of it on and not see any dips.
the original paint is ALWAYS the best base for paint. unless its just peeling off the car.