Hello from Rochester NY

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Hello from Rochester NY

Post by 63Falconconvert on April 6th 2009, 1:27 pm

Hello from Rochester NY. I stumbled on this forum this morning searching for info on rolled paint jobs. I have a 1963 Falcon convertible that is my daily driver in the summer. The car has a really poor enamel paint job that was probably sprayed 20 years ago. From 20 feet the paint looks ok but it has some bad body work, blemishes in the paint and a few dents that where never fixed. Last summer I saw the article in Hot Rod mag featuring the 62 Falcon. The article really intrigued me. I have been restoring cars for almost 25 years now and have been painting since 1988. I want to repaint the Falcon but there are a few negatives, the price of auto paint has shot through the roof over the years, Iím getting cheap in my old age, my garage is attached to our house so the paint fumes will get into the house which will make for one unhappy wife, and I know my neighbors will freak if they see clouds of paint fumes billowing out of my garage window. So with that said I really want to give this rolling method a try. Iím looking at it like this, it canít look any worse then it does now. I have a lot of questions like Rustoleum vs Interlux, how do you paint door jams, back side of the hood and trunk? Thinning the paint etc. Iím sure a lot of my questions will be answered when I start reading the posts on this forum. Looking forward to being a member and to get going on this project.
Thanks,
Bob
63Falconconvert
1000+ Poster
1000+ Poster

Number of posts : 1268
Job/hobbies : Sales welding supplies
Project : 1963 Falcon Convertible
Registration date : 2009-04-06

View user profile https://bobs1963fordfalconconvertible.jimdo.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Hello from Rochester NY

Post by retired plumber on April 7th 2009, 9:58 pm

Welcome Bob