2000 cavalier

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

2000 cavalier

Post by zoelife on July 12th 2009, 9:16 pm

Hi guys I'm kinda new to painting I've done some small things and now its time for me to up my game to my car i was going to have macco do my paint for about 1500 but decided o give it a shot my self first

here is the story my car has bad sun spots, body condition is amazing no dents dings or rust any where just bad paint so i've got the basics down on how to paint her with the roll on method

some pix

OK now as you can see it needs paint, so i know that i need to

1. sand the car with 320
2. sand the car with 500
3. sand the car with 800
4. apply roll on primer
5. allow 2hours to dry
6. sand with 800 until smooth
*wet sand or dry? if wet i use dawn soap for better lube *insert joke* what cleaner would you guys recommend to clean the surface sense the paint is still new or should i just use water?*
7. steps 4-6 two more times
8. let dry over night

9. come back in the morning with a gallon of black paint
10. re-mask and tape everything
11. apply first coat of black paint
*I'm going to paint my baby in my garage it gets hot in there, will the heat cause fish eggs and if so what can i do to prevent them, add a fan or something to circulate the air or will the heat act like an oven?*
12 wet sand with 1000 grit until orange peel is gone
13 allow 2 hours to dry
14 repeat steps 11-13
15 re-mask and tape everything
16 repeat steps 10-15 until i get a good 8 coats of paint on her
17 on the last coat i will use 1200 grit wet sand to really bring out the color

^sound about right?

materials *should of listed this first lol*
1.painters tape
2. 6inch rollers
3. little foam brushes for cracks and bumper
4. sand paper from 320-1200
5. water bucket
6. paint, now i want to do a gloss black but haven't decided what type yet
7. roll on primer

missing anything?