Please explain

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Please explain

Post by f6sk on May 5th 2010, 8:37 pm

I am interested in re-painting this:

It is an 1988 Isuzu I-mark Turbo

My questions are:
1. Do I need a clear coat? Please explain the clear coat. If I don't have a clear coat will my paint need constant waxing? I assumed that clear coats protest the paint, bit no one here seems to use them. Explain.
2. I have a spayer and a compressor, but no good place to spray. (That is to say I have a garage, but I don't want to turn everything in the garage red from over spray). Is rolling my best bet because I'm a noob? Or is rolling on the best option for people without sprayers and compressors?

I love the site. I'm in the process of reading the applicable posts... great stuff

scott
f6sk
Rank
Rank

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2010-05-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Please explain

Post by retired plumber on May 6th 2010, 1:30 am

Welcome Scott
The clear coat you are speaking of comes from the base coat/clear coat polyurathane auto paint used for the last 20-30 years. The base coat has the color amd metallic in it but is not shiny. The clear coat has the good UV stuff in it and gives the shine. This paint is also baked at the factory. You can buy this paint at a auto paint store and it will set you back $3-500 a gallon to get all the necessary things. I have some and tried it. It won't roll.

The stuff we are talking is different (lol)It is teck from the 60s. It is oil based enamel (rustoleum is one brand name) that can be mixed with mineral spirits and is cheap....well, reasonably inexpensive. However , you can't get clear in quarts in the U.S.. Tremclad is the same but that is rusto in Canada and they have bulk clear. (This was the standard type auto paint for many years, along with lacquer, untill poly came along) Some here have used Brightside which is a poly boat paint with good results.