New Member From Canada

View previous topic View next topic Go down

New Member From Canada

Post by Poppashango on October 19th 2010, 6:17 pm

Hey all! My name is Tony and I am in Edmonton Alberta, transplanted from Southern California. I bought a 1991 Chevy Astro about a year ago, replacing 87' I lost about 10 years ago. (Traded it in on a new car for the wife) I have always been a big fan of these vans so when the opportunity arose I bought another. It runs outstanding and looked pretty good, but it had some body rot on the drivers side just before the rear wheel. I have a little experience in gun painting as I use to work on cars (mostly VW's) with my Father when I was younger.

I am now a bicycle mechanic and I build customs and restore vintage bicycles for a hobby. I wanted to repair the rust damage on my Astro before it got any worse and give my van a facelift that was a little more my style. My first impulse was to spray it as I would normally do..but my experience has been when refinishing bicycles ( I spray them with my HVLP ) that is does tend to create quiet the cloud around the house...I imagined the van would be a nuclear mushroom cloud on the whole block..much to my neighbors displeasure I'm sure.

So I started looking for an alternative method and found the Moparts string..The idea seemed feasible and my father always said there was nothing a little color sanding couldn't fix. So I decided that I would give method a good run for it's money!

I'll post my project photos shortly and look forward to any input and advice that anyone here has to share.

Thanks and best wishes on all your projects!
Poppashango
Rank
Rank

Number of posts : 30
Job/hobbies : Bicycle Mechanic, Custom builder and Restorer
Project : 1991 Cevy Astro Van
Registration date : 2010-10-19

View user profile http://www.roguespherecyclery.ca

Back to top Go down

Re: New Member From Canada

Post by 63Falconconvert on October 20th 2010, 7:59 am

Welcome....
63Falconconvert
1000+ Poster