'98 International 9300

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

'98 International 9300

Post by joshc on November 24th 2010, 11:15 pm

Hey folks, I'm borderline committing blasphemy here, since I've decided to spray my truck instead of rolling it, but I wanted to share my project since I've gotten so much good information here. I decided to spray vs roll since I make my living with this truck, and waiting around for 10-12 coats of rolled on paint to dry just really wasn't a good option for me, and I already had a compressor big enough to run a hvlp gun. At any rate, here's a before picture from far enough away that it looks pretty good.

I may try to find a closer picture later so you can see how bad the paint was.

So blasphemy #2 is that I'm also spraying with a two part urethane, not Rustoleum. I got it at a commercial/industrial paint place here in Knoxville, and it came to about $47/gallon, color matched. The name of the stuff is Carboline Multi-Gard 46. I actually asked them to mix it just a smidgen darker than the factory paint, and judging by the test sheet that gave me, they nailed what I was looking for.

I got started stripping stuff off on Sunday, but I've had some other business to attend to and it rained all day yesterday, so I'm just now finishing pulling everything off and getting the old paint scuffed. I'll try to take some pictures and update tomorrow, for now, the Rockford Files is starting..Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Last edited by joshc on December 4th 2010, 4:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
joshc
Rank
Rank

Number of posts : 30
Job/hobbies : Trailer Truckin'
Project : '98 Cornbinder
Registration date : 2010-10-07

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: '98 International 9300

Post by Roadking41a on November 24th 2010, 11:43 pm

You're off to a great start. That is one big job.
Roadking41a
200+ Poster!
200+ Poster!

Number of posts : 300
Project : undecided
Registration date : 2008-01-06

View user profile