Old lurker

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Old lurker

Post by Wannabebodyman on July 24th 2011, 4:08 pm

I been lurking for a while and posted a couple times. I have sprayed a lot of alkyd enamel on different things but never rolled a car. It's too labor intensive for me and I am luck enough to have a place to spray paint. The projects posted came out nice. I understand and can appreciate this method with the price of automotive paint Supplies to base clear a small car with economy line are easily over $300.00. Then there is the investment in equipment.
Wannabebodyman
Rank
Rank

Number of posts : 5
Registration date : 2011-04-23

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Old lurker

Post by 63Falconconvert on July 24th 2011, 8:26 pm

Welcome back.......The price of paint has gotten out of control. When I started painting back in 1987, Dupont had there Cronar urehane line out and a gallon of the base and a gallon of there clear was only about $150. That was awesome paint, the clear sanded like butter and blended great. I still have all of my guns, suit, mask etc but I don't want to spray in my garage. I did my first "roll" this weekend. It was only primer, but not having the over spray and the clean up from spraying was awesome. This method isn't for everyone, but if your looking for a very good driver quallity paint job thats cheap this is a good way to go.
63Falconconvert
1000+ Poster
1000+ Poster

Number of posts : 1268
Job/hobbies : Sales welding supplies
Project : 1963 Falcon Convertible
Registration date : 2009-04-06

View user profile https://bobs1963fordfalconconvertible.jimdo.com/

Back to top Go down

Post by cac1967 on July 24th 2011, 8:52 pm