I've got a few quick questions, please help...

View previous topic View next topic Go down

I've got a few quick questions, please help...

Post by Qwik96 on February 27th 2012, 11:17 pm

I'll be spraying my '96 Stang GT in March & I have a few questions for someone who is knowledgeable at this! I'm fairly new to spraying & I want this to look good! Thanks in advance folks!!!

1). When I sand my original paint to prep for spraying it black do I wet sand it or dry sand it & what grit should I use?
2). Do I need to wet sand after every 2 coats I spray on or just after my final coat? What paint to mineral spirits mix do I use for best results?
3). Once I do spray my final coat how long do I need to wait before I wet sand & polish/buff it with the Meguire's Ultimate Compound then add a nice coat of wax?
4). Will a gravity fed paint sprayer kit from Walmart or Lowe's be sufficient enough for the spray job?
5). Do I need a clear coat or will a good wax after I've completed everything else be sufficient? If I need a clear coat, what is the best to spray over the rustoleum oil based paint & how much would I need?

These are really my only questions I have & I may have over read & not saw it, but that's it!

Last edited by Qwik96 on February 28th 2012, 2:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Qwik96
Rank
Rank

Number of posts : 64
Job/hobbies : Towboat Pilot, I hunt religiously, love working on cars & spending time with my wife & kids!!!
Project : 1996 Mustang GT Vert (mine), 1995 Mustang GT 5.0 (wife's)
Registration date : 2012-02-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: I've got a few quick questions, please help...

Post by Qwik96 on February 28th 2012, 2:25 pm

No answers???
Qwik96
Rank
Rank

Job/hobbies : Towboat Pilot, I hunt religiously, love working on cars & spending time with my wife & kids!!!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post by 63Falconconvert on February 28th 2012, 2:46 pm